Search form

The Eric Carle Museum
of Picture Book Art
  • 125 West Bay Road
  • Amherst, MA 01002


  • Thursday, Friday10 am-3 pm
  • Saturday 10am – 4 pm
  • Sunday 12 pm - 4 pm

Closed Monday,Tuesday, Wednesday

Accessibility Information

Visit the carle


Picture Books We Love

The Carle Honors 2013 Auction

The Carle is gearing up again for its annual benefit gala, The Carle Honors, held each September which celebrates and honors the amazing people in the children's book industry, often the unsung heroes who help connect the world with quality literature and art for children. This year's event will be held on September 26th at Guastavino's in New York City. Details and ticket information can be found here. We are excited to announce this year's honorees, given each year in four categories:

  • HonorsVanAllsburgArtist - for lifelong innovation in the field. This year's honoree is Chris Van Allsburg, the groundbreaking artist and author and winner of two Caldecott Medals for, Jumanji and The Polar Express. Van Allsburg will be introduced by Jon Scieszka, founder of Guys Read and the first National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature.
  • Honors1Mentor - editors, designers and educators who champion the art form. This year's honorees are Lynda Johnson Robb and Carol H. Rasco for their tireless advocacy for children’s literacy. Robb is Reading Is Fundamental’s Founding Board Member and Chairman Emeritus and Rasco its President & CEO. The two will be introduced by acclaimed writer and illustrator Paul O. Zelinsky.
  • HonorsFogelmanAngel - whose generous financial support is crucial to making picture book art exhibitions, education programs, and related projects a reality. This year's honoree is Phyllis Fogelman Baker, an influential editor and publisher dedicated to bringing fresh voices and exceptional books to children. Award-winning author and artist Rosemary Wells will present The Carle Honor to Fogelman Baker.
  • honorsBaderBridge - individuals who have found inspired ways to bring the art of the picture book to larger audiences through work in other fields. This year's honoree is Barbara Bader, author of the seminal scholarly book, American Picturebooks from Noah’s Ark to The Beast Within. Her award will be presented by Roger Sutton, editor in chief of The Horn Book.
In addition to the award ceremony, each year fans of children's illustration eagerly look forward to the benefit art auction at The Carle Honors. This year's pieces are absolutely amazing. A stellar cast of generous art contributors include Eric Carle, Tony DiTerlizzi, Richard Egielski, Tom Feelings, Steven Kellogg, Jon Klassen, David Macaulay, Barbara McClintock, Barry Moser, Jerry Pinkney, Susan L. Roth, William Steig, Chris Van Allsburg, Rosemary Wells, David Wiesner, Mo Willems and Robert R. Zakanitch. It's impossible to pick a favorite, but I am so taken by this special piece by the late Tom Feelings.


You can preview the rest of the auction here and find all the bidding details.

What art piece would you love to take home?


Add a New Comment

Leave a reply

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
To Top