Search form

The Eric Carle Museum
of Picture Book Art
  • 125 West Bay Road
  • Amherst, MA 01002

Hours

  • Thursday, Friday10 am-3 pm
  • Saturday 10am – 4 pm
  • Sunday 12 pm - 4 pm

Closed Monday,Tuesday, Wednesday

Accessibility Information

Visit the carle

News

Picture Books We Love

Top of the Shelf: Otis

Otis by Loren Long

In the tradition of Virginia Lee Burton's Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel, Long's lead character is a lovable anthropomorphized machine. The tractor Otis befriends a lonely calf and the two romp across the farm with great jubilation until Otis is put out to rust and the forlorn calf stumbles into a mud pond. Children will cheer as Otis outdoes other would-be helpers to come to his friend's rescue. Rich red-and-brown tones flow across the pages in scenes reminiscent of Burton's sweeping spreads.

Buy Otis or to read more of Top of the Shelf books.

Add a New Comment

Leave a reply

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Back
To Top