Search form

The Eric Carle Museum
of Picture Book Art
  • 125 West Bay Road
  • Amherst, MA 01002


  • Thursday, Friday 10 am - 4 pm
  • Saturday 10 am - 5 pm
  • Sunday 12 pm - 5 pm

Closed Monday,Tuesday, Wednesday

Accessibility Information

Visit the carle


2017 Carle Honors Honorees press release

The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art Announces the 2017 Carle Honors Honorees

The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art is proud to announce the four exceptional honorees who have been selected to receive the 2017 Carle Honors award for their contributions to the field of children's literature:

Artist: Ed Young, who consistently brings an eye for beauty, integrity, and innovation, and sets an inspiring example for young artists through his books. He received the Caldecott Medal for Lon Po Po (1990), two Caldecott Honors, and was twice nominated for the Hans Christian Andersen Medal, the highest international award for children's book authors and illustrators. The Cat from Hunger Mountain, released in November, 2016, is a visually stunning, poignant story about humility, wastefulness, and appreciating what one has.  
Angel: Dr. John Y. Cole, Library of Congress Historian, for highlighting the importance of books for children and teens: as author coordinator for the National Book Festival from 2001-2013; by taking the lead in the establishment of the position of National Ambassador for Young People's Literature in 2008; and for realizing in 2009 the long-standing plan of the Library of Congress to open a Young Readers Center in its historic Jefferson Building.

Bridge: Anthea Bell, a pioneer in the world of translations of foreign language books into English, especially children's literature, renowned for keeping the original spirit of the book intact. Acclaimed examples of her work include the re-translation of Hans Christian Andersen's fairytales, the Inkworld trilogy by Cornelia Funke, the Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier, Austerlitz by W. G. Sebald, and the French Asterix comics.

Mentor: Bank Street Writers Lab, represented by Chairperson Dr. Cynthia Weill, Director of the Center for Children's Literature, recognizing the organization's leadership and support of writers and illustrators throughout its long history. Founded in 1937, the Writers Lab encourages the writing of children's literature that shows an understanding and appreciation of the language of growing children, is aware of and responsive to children's real and imagined worlds, and affirms the social and cultural heritage of every child.

The Presenter of the 2017 Awards will be writer Jack Gantos, whose works include Dead End in Norvelt, which won both the 2012 Newbery Award and the Scott O'Dell Award for Best Historical fiction, A Hole in My Life, Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key, and numerous other award-winning books. His latest book is WRITING RADAR: Using Your Journal to Snoop Out and Craft Great Stories.
The Twelfth Annual Carle Honors will awarded in New York City at Guastavino's on Thursday, September 28, 2017. Learn more about The Carle Honors or contact Rebecca Miller Goggins for sponsorship and ticket details.  

To Top