Search form

The Eric Carle Museum
of Picture Book Art
  • 125 West Bay Road
  • Amherst, MA 01002


  • Thursday, Friday10 am-3 pm
  • Saturday 10am – 4 pm
  • Sunday 12 pm - 4 pm

Closed Monday,Tuesday, Wednesday

Accessibility Information

Visit the carle



Since its founding, The Carle has been lead by a diverse board of professionals who share a passion for children’s literature and a commitment to art and literacy. In addition to the invaluable support we receive from our trustees, we are indebted to the many advisors around the world who give the Museum their time and expertise.

Executive Director:
Alexandra Kennedy

Board Officers:

Christopher B. Milne, Chair
President, Gage-Wiley

Jen Loja, Treasurer
President, Penguin Young Readers

Chris Loker, Vice Chair
Author of children's books and books about children's literature

William Phillip Gorth, Secretary
Co-Founder and President, National Evaluation Systems, Inc., Retired

Board Members:

H. Nichols B. Clark
Retired Founding Director and Chief Curator, The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art

Bryan Collier
Author and artist

Robert L. Forbes
Vice President of Forbes Media, Retired

Kate Geis

Grace Lin
Author and artist

Steven Malk
Literary Agent, Writers House LLC

John Mendelson
SVP for Sales and Digital Initiatives, Candlewick Press

Suzanne Murphy
President and Publisher, HarperCollins Children's Books

Andrea Davis Pinkney
VP, Executive Editor, Scholastic

Lynn Waggoner,
VP, Content and Curriculum, Disney Publishing Worldwide

Honorary Trustees:

Joanna Carey
Jane Goodall
Takeshi Matsumoto
Vivian Gussin Paley

In Memoriam:

Barbara Carle, Chair Emerita
Fred Rogers
Maurice Sendak

To Top